SAVILE HOUSE BY SCABAL

“A good suit is hard to find, but an excellent tailor, hardest.”

Let me begin with this maxim: “A good suit is hard to find, but an excellent tailor, hardest.”

My father, a gentleman of superior taste, never did care much for “the category of suit made my the butcher and his cleaver” as he would say. By this he meant the mass produced suits donned my most men and may be purchased at any department store. Indeed, I one day overheard him say, “The only thing worse than dying is dying in a bad suit.” You see, my father had quite the preference for bespoke suits; in fact, very nearly all his attire was tailor-made. Needless to say, being reared by him, I was bound to suffer from the same affliction – and I say that with satisfaction and a smile.

So when I heard of Savile House by Scabal, the private men’s tailoring emporium, I knew that I had to experience their tailoring service firsthand.

The emporium can be found in the Square de l’Opera Louis Jouvet, by Guillaume, Laurent and Benoit. It’s decor has been designed as a gentleman’s private dressing room, in sophisticated and plush Hausmann-esque style apartment.

I was ushered into an elegant and comfortable small lounge and offered a welcome drink. The subject of discussion began with current developments and trends in men’s fashion before we moved on to the creation of my suit.

At this I was led into a large office and library covered in sheets upon sheet of fabric – over 5000 to be exact – archived by type of material, colour, pattern and weight. Truly, the Savile House by Scabal library is a treasure cove of fabrics, from the very simple to the extraordinary exotic.

Scabal, the parent company of the tailor, is no insignificant name in menswear, after all they have been tailors to Marlon Brando in The God Father, Michael Douglas in Wallstreet, Salvador Dali and President Barack Obama for his inauguration ceremony.

Now it’s no small matter commissioning a tailor-made suit, for the difficulty arises in the amount of choice at your disposal: cut, details, fabric, buttons…the possible variations are without end. But the Savile House team was on hand to offer personalised insight and guidance, assistance that is invaluable as an element of sobriety amidst the excitement that could easily lead to a complete error of judgment in taste and style.

My excitement really upped the ante when I started trying on samples, eliminating options and trying to picture myself in the finished suit.

Personally, I wanted an Italian cut in rich, decadent fabric and finishes and in midnight blue. Primarily, I wanted to be able to wear it to a dinner or cocktail party.

Since I wanted a suit that exudes elegance, I opted to go with a pointed collar featuring a silk trim. For pockets I went for two, with the same trimming. The buttons, the preference of lining, the number of pockets…Truly, the tailoring possibilities are endless with more than 200 personalisation options to choose from.

Feeling quite confident with my choices, the final product would be a midnight blue velveteen trim fit Italian cut, with black silk trim and buttons, golden interior and matching lining for the back of the neck.

All in all, the visit to Savile House by Scabal was in itself a tailor-made experience, much like having one’s own personal butler. I wait in anticipation to write the follow-up article showcasing my suit and the tailor’s supreme skills.

“The only thing worse than dying is dying in a bad suit.”

Designed as a a gentleman's private dressing room, in sophisticated and plush Hausmann-esque style.

Designed as a a gentleman’s private dressing room, in sophisticated and plush Hausmann-esque style.

The Savile House by Scabal library is a treasure cove of fabrics, from the very simple to exotic.

The Savile House by Scabal library is a treasure cove of fabrics, from the very simple to exotic.

The difficulty arises in the amount of choice at your disposal: cut, details, fabric, buttons...

The difficulty arises in the amount of choice at your disposal: cut, details, fabric, buttons…

The possible variations are without end.

The possible variations are without end.

The Savile House team was on hand to offer personalised insight and guidance.

The Savile House team was on hand to offer personalised insight and guidance.

Personally, I wanted an Italian cut in rich, decadent fabric and finishes and in midnight blue.

Personally, I wanted an Italian cut in rich, decadent fabric and finishes and in midnight blue.

Savile House by Scabal dressed President Barack Obama for his inauguration ceremony.

Savile House by Scabal dressed President Barack Obama for his inauguration ceremony.

I was ushered into an elegant and comfortable small lounge and offered a welcome drink.

I was ushered into an elegant and comfortable small lounge and offered a welcome drink.

Live the Life
Le Marquis des Excellences

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

